Prince William Chamber of Commerce

Education & Innovation Committee

“Developing Our Workforce for Today & Tomorrow”

Education & Innovation Committee Sponsor:

 

The Education & Innovation Committee provides a connection between the business community and educators, building partnerships that enhance the educational experience for students in Prince William County and the Cities of Manassas and Manassas Park.  Annual activities include:

 

  • Student Scholarship Program:  Raises funds and selects the winners for academic scholarships that reward students with a demonstrated commitment to academic success and the community.
  • Annual Education & Innovation Event: Spotlights businesses supporting education as it relates to workforce development, STEM, elementary, secondary, and higher education in our region. Also awards academic scholarships of $2,500 each to Student Scholarship Program winners.
  • National Young Readers Day: Coordinate volunteers to read at elementary schools throughout Prince William County and the Cities of Manassas and Manassas Park. Volunteer as a reader for the next NYRD 2020! Contact Michelle Rao: laserwoman@hotmail.com  .
  • Speed Networking: Support local high school FBLAs (Future Business Leaders of America) and DECA in conducting a speed networking event that teaches students basic networking and interviewing skills. Here is a link to volunteer a little time to assist high school students!
  • Monthly Spotlight Speaker Series: Meet, learn about, and make connections with businesses and organizations that support education & innovation.
  • Work-Based Learning and Career & Technical Education (CTE)

The Committee’s Leadership: 

Education Chair: Michelle Rao, Laser Quest Corporation, laserwoman@hotmail.com; Education Vice-Chair: Ramunda Young, NVCC-Manassas, ryoung@nvcc.edu;

Innovations Chair: Zuzana Steen, Micron Technologies, zsteen@micron.com    Innovations Vice-Chair, Eugene Brown, NOVA Checker Cab, ebrown@novachecker.com.
 

Workforce Development Volunteer Opportunities

BREAKFAST WITH ENGINEERS

When: January 30

Where: Stonewall High School, 8820 Rixlew Lane, Manassas

Need: Multiple engineers to share with HS students about their careers.

RSVP: https://www.signupgenius.com/go/20F094BADAD23A4FA7-breakfast

 

DOUGHNUTS WITH THE ENGINEERS

When: February 14th, 8-9:40 a.m.

Where: Osbourn High School, 1977 Eagle Way, Old Town Manassas

Need: Multiple engineers to share with HS students about their careers.

RSVP: Contact Dr. Trey Davis, bdavis@mcpsva.org or 571-377-6067

 

 

SUCCESS STEAM Conference for Middle School Girls 

When: Saturday, March 28, 10-noon

Where: Marsteller MS, Bristow

For more information, contact Susan Bardenhagen successsteamconference@gmail.com.

 

STEAM Conference for Middle School Girls 

When: Saturday, April 18, 8-12 p.m.

Where: Louise A. Benton Middle School, 7411 Hoadly Road, Manassas, Virginia 20112

For more information contact Kelsey Moran, 703.791.8003, MoranKR@pwcs.edu

 

FOR MANASSAS CITY PUBLIC SCHOOLS: Seeking Business Volunteers for the following Career Fair events. Please reach out to the point of contact listed to learn more.

 

School                                  Contact Person                 Email                                     Dates

Baldwin Elementary           Heather Hartman               hramey@mcpsva.org        Stay tuned for details on their “Career Wax Museum”

Jennie Dean Elementary    Emily George                      EGeorge@mcpsva.org        March 27th (tentative date)

Haydon Elementary           Sarah Myers                         smyers@mcpsva.org           stay tuned for date

Round Elementary              Taylor Hawkins                   thawkins@mcpsva.org       stay tuned for date

Weems Elementary             Leigh Corner                        lcorner@mcpsva.org           April 17, 2020

Baldwin Intermediate        Lori White                             lwhite@mcpsva.org            December 17, 2019

Mayfield Intermediate       Robert Vavrinak                  RVavrinak@mcpsva.org     March 27, 2020

Metz Middle School           Ms. Zayatz                              azayatz@mcpsva.org            stay tuned for date

Osbourn High School         Larry Gilligan                       LGilligan@mcpsva.org       April 14, 2020

 

Join us for a meeting! This committee meets the 1st Tuesday monthly from 9:15-10:30 am.  Visit the online calendar for the latest meeting information or request to be added to the committee mailing list.

 

 

 

 

Cornerstone Partners

Vision Partners